Grow Your Own: Gardening for Beginners

When I started gardening, I was so ignorant that it wasn’t even funny. I literally did not know how or why you would repot a house plant, didn’t even know what potting soil was. The many, many websites out there are really geared more toward experienced gardeners. Lots of amazing tutorials, but simple questions were left unanswered. So I thought it would be fun to do a Gardening Basics series for beginners. I will post on this topic periodically through the spring and summer as we start our garden.

Topics I will cover include:

Finding your garden space
What to grow & a shopping list for your beginner garden
Weeding and ways around it
Watering- how often?
How to know when things are ripe (a big issue for me at first)
Basic food preservation techniques
Compost and fertilizer- why and how?

Are there any other beginner gardeners out there? Any other topics I can help with? I am hoping this can be a place where us newbies/reformed black thumbs can feel comfortable asking questions and learning together!

20130312-183137.jpg

3 thoughts on “Grow Your Own: Gardening for Beginners

  1. Hi, just finished my chapters on organic gardening and just found your blog. You and your readers are welcome to check out my “stuff.” just go to http://growsoeasyorganic.com – and please share if you’re interested. I am a lazy organic gardener with more than 25 years experience of trying, growing, killing (accidentally of course) and harvesting/storing and cooking organic veggies and fruits and I LOVE it. And I love your blog.

  2. Pingback: How Does Your Garden Grow? | John Roberts Photography (and other stuff)

Leave a Reply

